A Performance Edition of Quartetto in G Major for flute, violin, viola, and cello by Joseph Aloys Schmittbaur

UNCG Author/Contributor (non-UNCG co-authors, if there are any, appear on document)
Laura D. Stevens (Creator)
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG )
Web Site: http://library.uncg.edu/
Ashley Barret

Abstract: Joseph Aloys Schmittbaur (1718-1809) was an important figure in the musical history of the eighteenth-century as a composer, conductor, and glass harmonica maker. Among his many compositions are a series of flute quartets, nearly all of which are accessible today. One flute quartet, however, only exists in manuscript form in the archives of the Moravian Music Foundation (MMF) located in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. This dissertation investigates a manuscript copy of Schmittbaur's Quartetto in G major found in the Salem Musicum Collegium collection of the MMF while updating, correcting, and clarifying current documentation of Schmittbaur's known and published quartets for the flute. Furthermore, this research provides a catalogued listing specific to the flute music in the Salem Musicum Collegium collection in the MMF, a thematic index of Schmittbaur's flute quartets, and biographical information of the copyist, Johannes Reuz, along with evidence of his handwriting. Finally, this dissertation discloses the manuscript copy of Schmittbaur's Quartetto in G major and provides a corrected and edited performance edition of the individual parts and a score with editorial comments that adhere to the MMF Editorial Policies.

Additional Information

Language: English
Date: 2014
18th century composer, Flute quartet, Moravian Music Foundation, Performance edition, Schmittbaur
Schmittbaur, Joseph Aloys $x Manuscripts
Moravian Music Foundation. $b Salem Collegium Musicum Collection $v Catalogs
Quartets (Flute, violin, viola, cello) $v Scores
Schmittbaur, Joseph Aloys. $t Quartets, $n op. 1. $n No. 3

Email this document to