Isang Yun's musical bilingualism: serial technique and Korean elements in Fünf Stücke für Klavier (1958) and his later piano works

UNCG Author/Contributor (non-UNCG co-authors, if there are any, appear on document)
Ko Eun Lee (Creator)
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG )
Web Site:
Andrew Willis

Abstract: Isang Yun (1917-1995) was a Korean composer residing in Germany after 1957. Reflecting his musical training in both the East and West, Yun's music integrates serial techniques with elements of Korean traditional music. Yun's piano music merits attention for developing this combination in great depth, as perhaps best exemplified by Fünf Stücke für Klavier (1958). His later piano works, Shao Yang Yin (1966) and Interludium A für Klavier (1982) emphasize aspects of Korean traditional music more strongly. This study intends to assist pianists to develop an informed interpretation of these works based on an understanding of Yun's musical bilingualism.

Additional Information

Language: English
Date: 2012
Isang Yun, Piano, Korean traditional music
Yun, Isang. $t Stu¨cke, $m piano
Yun, Isang. $t Shao yang yin
Yun, Isang. $t Interludium A.
Music $z Korea $x Western influences

Email this document to