Sequence: for clarinets, electric guitar, double bass and drum set

UNCG Author/Contributor (non-UNCG co-authors, if there are any, appear on document)
Yunfei Li (Creator)
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG )
Web Site:
Alejandro Rutty

Abstract: This thesis, Sequence, is a composition for clarinet (doubling bass clarinet), electric guitar, double bass, and drum set. Working within the boundaries of a minimalist musical style, my goal for this piece was to create structural motion by means of rhythm, registration, and color in the context of static harmonies. I modeled my music on works by Steve Reich and Hans Zimmer, who composed Electric Counterpoint (1997), and Supermarine (2017), respectively. This paper focuses on procedures.

Additional Information

Language: English
Date: 2019
Composition, Film music, Minimalism, Minimal music, Sequence, Shifting registration
Minimal music $v Scores
Quartets (Unspecified instruments (4)) $v Scores

Email this document to