Luigi Boccherini’s string quintet in B-flat major, G. 312: a critical performing edition

UNCG Author/Contributor (non-UNCG co-authors, if there are any, appear on document)
Brian Andrew Carter (Creator)
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG )
Web Site:
Alexander Ezerman

Abstract: The Italian cellist and composer Luigi Boccherini (1743 - 1805) composed 125 quintets for 2 violins, viola, and 2 violoncellos during his career. A vast majority of these works have never been published in modern editions, and those that have been published have been subjected to heavy editorial hands. These works are the first of their kind, and while the genre of the quintet with two cellos, as opposed to the more standard instrumentation with two violas, has never gained any real footing in terms of attention from better-known composers such as Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven, they represent the pinnacle of Boccherini's compositional output, and their neglect in both the publishing and performing fields is a subject that needs to be addressed. The purpose of this study is to present one of these quintets in a scholarly, critical performing edition based on the three individual hand-written sources as well as the two published editions I have procured. Unlike all other previously published versions of any of these works, this edition will include a full score and individual parts, along with clear indications of source-derived markings and editorial additions. The G. 312 quintet has never been published in a modern edition, and the present version represents what is hoped to be the first of many critical editions to be undertaken by this author. In addition to the score and parts, a detailed critical commentary has been included. This commentary outlines all of the changes, alterations, and editorial decisions that were made during the preparation of the performing materials. Also included are text chapters that discuss the history of Boccherini's quintets, historically relevant treatises, ornamentation practices, and the editorial process.

Additional Information

Language: English
Date: 2013
Chamber Music, Historical Editions, String Quintets
String quintets (Violins (2), viola, cellos (2)) $v Scores and parts
Boccherini, Luigi, $d 1743-1805. $t Quintets, $m violins, viola, cellos, $n G. 312, $r B(flat) major

Email this document to