Stalin’s Music Prize: Soviet Culture and Politics by Marina Frolova-Walker [book review]

UNCG Author/Contributor (non-UNCG co-authors, if there are any, appear on document)
Joan Titus, Associate Professor of Musicology (Creator)
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG )
Web Site:

Abstract: In this book, musicologist Marina Frolova-Walker details the process and circumstances around the origin and awarding of the Stalin Prize, with special attention to the category of Music. Using extensive archival sources mixed with anecdotal stories over the course of thirteen chapters, Frolova-Walker guides the reader through the cultural politics of the prize while providing an account of significant and not-so-significant players in the Soviet music scene during Stalinism including ones beyond the usual Dmitry Shostakovich and Sergey Prokofiev pairing. Her introductory chapter outlines her methodology and her contribution to the trend in the production of musical-cultural histories that has been in existence for several decades.

Additional Information

Russian Review, 76, No. 4 (October 2017): 756
Language: English
Date: 2017
Stalin Prize, Stalinism and music, book reviews

Email this document to