A guide to the works for and involving Horn by Ruth Gipps

UNCG Author/Contributor (non-UNCG co-authors, if there are any, appear on document)
Catherine Satchwell Creasy (Creator)
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG )
Web Site: http://library.uncg.edu/
Dennis AsKew

Abstract: The purpose of this study is to provide information on the body of works for and involving the horn by British composer Ruth Gipps (1921-1999). This guide is intended as a reference for students, teachers and professionals. The study primarily focuses on Gipps’s Horn Concerto, Op. 58 (1968) and the Wind Sinfonietta for double wind quintet, Op. 73 (1989), but includes information on the following: The Three Billy Goats Gruff, Op. 27b, Trio for oboe, horn in F and bassoon (1943); Seascape, Op. 53 for double wind quintet (1958); A Taradiddle for Two Horns, Op. 54 (1959); Sonatina for horn and piano, Op. 56 (1960); Triton, Op. 60 for horn and piano (1970); Wind Octet, Op. 65 for 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons & 2 horns (1983); The Pony Cart, Op. 75 Trio for flute, horn and piano (1990); and The Lady of the Lambs, Op. 79 for soprano, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn (1992). This collection of music represents a valuable addition to the horn repertoire. Pedagogically, these works bridge a gap in the repertoire between the Romantic period and the twentieth century. Through a variety of solo and chamber ensemble combinations that are suitable for a range of ability levels, these works provide a transition to the study and performance of later twentieth century works in an accessible tonal language. Additionally, these works continue to expand the catalogue of works for horn by female composers.

Additional Information

Language: English
Date: 2018
British, Chamber music, Gipps, Horn, Horn Concerto, Op. 58, Wind Sinfonietta, Op. 73
Gipps, Ruth $x Criticism and interpretation
Horn music $x Analysis, appreciation

Email this document to